A UGC platform connects brands with creators who make photos and videos of a product for the brand to post, usually as ads or on product pages, rather than posting to their own followers. You pay for the content and the right to use it, not for reach. That’s the main difference from influencer marketing, and it’s why UGC creators don’t need large followings. More in UGC vs influencer marketing.
Disclosure: GetCollab publishes this blog and is listed first below because it’s our product; the rest are alphabetical, not ranked. Facts about other companies come from their own websites (checked dates under Sources).
UGC platforms compared
| Platform | Model | Price | Fees | Payment | Ads focus |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GetCollab | Creator campaigns with usage rights in every contract | $149/month (₹2,999 in India) | No cut of creator fees | Escrow until you approve | Usage rights set in every contract |
| Aspire | Marketplace plus SaaS; Content Hub with usage-rights details | Quote (demo) | 8.5% handling fee on creator fee budgets | Built in | Partnership ads |
| Collabstr | Marketplace of creators with priced packages | Free plan; Pro $299/month | 10% (free) or 5% (Premium) hiring fee | Escrow until you approve; usage rights agreed before you pay | Not stated |
| Insense | Creator ad content (UGC, Meta Partnership Ads, TikTok Spark Ads) | Paid trial from $650/month | 7–20% marketplace fees | Released when you approve | Yes, core focus |
| Upfluence | Influencer software; content approval and briefing | Quote (call); 12-month minimum | No percentage of sales | PayPal or Stripe | Not stated |
How to choose a UGC platform
- Running a lot of Meta or TikTok ads: pick a platform built around ad content and whitelisting, such as Insense.
- Small business, a few videos a month: a marketplace with a free plan and priced packages, such as Collabstr.
- Content plus posts that drive sales: a platform that handles both UGC usage rights and tracked creator posts, such as GetCollab.
UGC for small businesses: a simple start
- Pick one product and one use: product page video, or one ad.
- Brief three creators with the same brief. Compare what comes back.
- Buy usage rights for the channel you need, for 3–12 months.
- Test the best asset as an ad against your current best ad.
- Reorder from the creator whose asset wins.
What usage rights to get
| Right | What it allows | Typical cost |
|---|---|---|
| Organic social | Repost on your accounts | Often included |
| Website and email | Product pages, emails | Often included or small add-on |
| Paid ads | Run as an ad from your account | Usually extra |
| Whitelisting / Spark Ads | Run ads from the creator’s handle | Usually extra, time-limited |
| Perpetual | Use forever | Highest; many creators refuse |
Write the channels and duration into the contract. “Unlimited usage” without a time limit is the most common source of UGC disputes.
How to source authentic product reviews
Reviews and UGC overlap but follow different rules:
- Paid UGC must be disclosed as paid if posted as a testimonial or ad.
- Customer reviews should come from real buyers, never from creators paid for a positive review. Paying for or incentivising positive reviews breaks platform rules and, in many countries, consumer law.
- Ask real customers for reviews after delivery, and send product to creators for honest content, not for a star rating.
How to measure ROI from UGC
Measure the content where you use it: compare the UGC ad’s cost per purchase with your best brand-made ad, and count the studio cost you avoided. See how to track influencer campaign performance.
FAQ
How much does UGC cost? It varies by country, format and usage rights. See UGC creator rates in India for one market’s ranges.
Do UGC creators need followers? No. You’re paying for content, not their audience.
Sources
GetCollab is not affiliated with the companies named; names belong to their owners. To request a correction, contact us.